Some People Just Look Better In Glasses

Even before I wore glasses, I was a glasses person. As in, during my second grade eye exam, I tried to fudge the results so I could get a pair [word to the wise: they can tell when you do that]. So, when years of higher education and internet addiction finally caught up with me, I wasn’t too bummed that I finally needed a prescription. Far from the dorky glasses stereotypes, I’ve found that I get more compliments on days when I wear my glasses. This just confirmed what I already knew — some people just look better in glasses.

Take, for instance, the following celebrities. They all look great with two eyes, but even better with four. For our fellow glasses-wearers, we’re also including our picks for which frames we’d recommend to our favorite bespectacled celebs – or just those of us who would like to look like them.

Zooey Deschanel

Our pick: Walker in Canton Blue from Warby Parker’s Spring 2014 Collection

Glasses are a staple in Zooey’s adorkable persona, and with her quirky, old-school sense of style we think she’d look awesome in these fun, colorful frames.

Idris Elba

um sorry rando girl, no one’s looking at you…

Our pick: Preston in Red Canyon from Warby Parker’s Palm Canyon Collection

 Smooth, sophisticated, and intelligent … and the glasses look really nice, too.

Tina Fey

Our Pick: Finch in Grenadine from Warby Parker’s Spring 2014 Collection

The petroleum industry owes Tina Fey a lot of money, because demand for plastic probably increased like crazy after she started wearing her black frames behind the Update desk. We’re sticking with her slight cat’s eye shape, but switching to a bolder color that we don’t think is too over-the-top for a no-nonsense funny lady.

Rashida Jones

Our pick: Duckworth in Revolver Black Matte from Warby Parker’s Palm Canyon Collection

Rashida really has fun with her glasses – she’s even been seen in some awesome clear plastic frames – but if you like her slim black frames, this is what we suggest. You still get the feel of the ever-popular chunky black frame, but in a size that won’t overwhelm smaller features.

Hilary Duff

Our pick: Kimball in Marzipan Tortoise from Warby Parker’s Spring 2014 collection.

How great are Hilary’s bold tortoiseshell frames? I think tortoiseshell looks great on everyone, but as a pale redhead I especially appreciate how the lighter tones are more forgiving on my complexion.  Like Hilary’s glasses, these ones have an exaggerated tortoise pattern for those of you who want marbled frames but don’t want to look like your grandpa.

Andy Samberg

 

Our pick: Burke in Sugar Maple from Warby Parker Spring 2014

If you have a narrower face like Andy, you may be tempted to go for teeny-tiny frames, but you actually have a great face to show off oversized, 70s-throwback specs.

Ryan Gosling

Our pick: Seymour in Whiskey Tortoise  from Warby Parker Spring 2014

I mean Ryan Gosling doesn’t need to ‘look better’, but I’m just saying he’s *that much* hotter with them on.

Donnie Wahlberg

Our pick: Winston in Cognac Tortoise from Warby Parker’s Palm Canyon Collection

See how these glasses have rectangular lenses and a slightly triangular nose? This is a great way to add some angularity to softer features without going all the way to being like “hey, I’m wearing shapes.”

Christina Hendricks

Our pick: Marcel in Plum Marblewood from Warby Parker’s Spring 2014 Collection

So, I do realize that Christina Hendricks and Joan Holloway-Harris (-Holloway again?) are two totally different people. Still, it’s hard to picture her in anything other than 60s style. For Christina, we’d go with frames with a 60s vibe (the slightly upturned corners) and a modern twist (an unexpected dipped bridge). We’re keeping her in multicolored frames (albeit subtle ones) – once again, a non-solid color is worth a try if you’re fair-skinned.

Of course, we couldn’t let the post go by without some gratuitous photos of our favorite glasses-wearing guys. We don’t really have any suggestions for these gents, except possibly that they wear their glasses more:

Justin Timberlake

Donald Glover

Matt Bomer

Anderson Cooper


5 thoughts on “Some People Just Look Better In Glasses

  1. I have recently started wearing glasses and I was so excited to get them! I only need them for reading though – not every day wear which makes me a bit sad. But I feel like they really suit my bookish personality – and my big head. I got cool tortoiseshell ones as I am about as pale as a vampire, so I get what you mean about tortoiseshell being kind to us.

    Like

Comments are closed.